Corsica Land of escape

Natural heritage

ile-red-2

The tourist wealth of Corsica is based on a rare natural heritage. Between Ile Rousse and Ajaccio if you want to discover unforgettable places the examples are legions ... The Calanche de Piana with its red granite rocks dug by erosion that overhang the road and plunge right into the Mediterranean Sea. Remarkable site also, the hamlet of Girolata which is accessible only by the sea and which is dominated by a strong genoese. The Gulf of Porto will offer you an unforgettable view, this landscape is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is made up of cliffs colored by the sun's rays and multicolored pebble beaches. The Bouches de Bonifacio at the extreme south of Corsica, they separate Corsica from Sardinia, the rocks are white unlike the west of the island but also offer breathtaking beauty. This village is characterized by a "vein" of limestone that make these cliffs a unique landscape. The Cap Corse between Saint Florent and Bastia you will also discover a multitude of landscapes all as beautiful as each other.

But the Corsican natural heritage does not stop at the coast, in the interior you can visit villages that tell the history of Corsica, with examples of places to discover: the anthropomorphic menhirs of Filitosa or the "Castelli" of The Alta Rocca, the chestnut forests in Castagniccia, the forests of pines Larici of endemic essence ... All these classified sites offer a true quietude to the walkers who discover them so much these places incite respect and admiration. Close to each mountain village it is not unusual to find rivers, waterfalls or natural swimming pools that invite you to bathe and rest in the shade of the trees that surround them.

Romanesque chapels of Castagniccia, Baroque churches of the Bastians, fortifications of Bonifacio or citadel of Calvi, History has deposited its prints everywhere and even in the most remote villages of the island. But its inhabitants have also erected museums, highlighted the archaeological sites, organized festivals very appreciated of music, of theater. Prehistory left the Menhirs of Filitosa to Corsica; The Romans taught him the cultivation of vines and the raising of oysters. From the Middle Ages, Christendom encouraged the erection of Romanesque and Baroque churches. As for the Genoese, they built fortresses and citadels there, ramparts against the invaders.

Cultural Heritage

Each village in Corsica has a listed building or a place, these remarkable places are either by their beauty or by their history which make that the ruins make you discover ancestral times that no one remembers ...

ile-red-3In Corsica, the stones are the history of the island, they are inherited from the Genoese occupation, and the ramparts of former days were charged to defend the island against its attackers, Genoese towers are scattered to the four Corners of the island and emphasize a story full of events. Some can be visited as they have been restored or are in the process of restoration.
If you land or go to Bastia to stay in our hotel, you will drive through Ponte Novu by car and you will discover the remains of a Genoese bridge connecting the two banks of the Golo to the village. In 1769, it was the place of bloody clashes between the troops of Pascal Paoli and those of the King of France. A fine example of the military genius of the time will be the citadel of Calvi which dominate the sea by its rampart and its fortified place full of history.
The Genoese forts of Matra, Girolata and Saint-Florent ... the fortified walls of Porto-Vecchio ... the vestiges of Filitosa are other remarkable places that you may not have time to visit and that will incite you to Come back to Corsica, because here every rocks hide you a unique and beautiful landscape.

Book your stay live at the best price

UP
DutchEnglishFrenchitalian

La Corse Terre d’évasion

Le patrimoine naturel

ile-rousse-2

Les richesses touristiques de la Corse reposent sur un patrimoine naturel rare. Entre Ile Rousse et Ajaccio si vous souhaitez découvrir des lieux inoubliables les exemples sont légions … Les Calanche de Piana avec ses roches de granit rouge creusées par l’érosion qui surplombent la route et plongent à pic dans la mer Méditerranée. Site remarquable également, le hameau de Girolata qui n’est accessible que par la mer et qui est dominé par un fort génois. Le golfe de Porto vous offrira une vue inoubliable, ce paysage est classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Il est constitué de falaises colorées par les rayons du soleil et de plages de galets multicolores. Les Bouches de Bonifacio à l’extrême sud de la Corse, elles, séparent la Corse de la Sardaigne, les roches sont blanches contrairement à l’ouest de l’île mais offrent également une beauté à couper le souffle. Ce village se caractérise par une « veine » de calcaire qui font de ces falaises un paysage unique. Le Cap Corse entre Saint Florent et Bastia vous fera également découvrir une multitudes de paysages tous aussi beaux les uns que les autres.

Mais le patrimoine naturel corse ne s’arrête pas à la côte, dans l’intérieur vous pourrez visiter des villages qui racontent l’histoire de Corse, avec pour exemples de lieus à découvrir : les menhirs anthropomorphes de Filitosa ou les « Castelli » de l’Alta Rocca, les forêts de châtaigniers en Castagniccia, les forêts de pins Larici d’essence endémique … Tous ces sites classés offrent une véritable quiétude aux promeneurs qui les découvrent tant ces lieus incitent au respect et à l’admiration. A proximité de chaque village de montagne il n’est pas rare de trouvé des rivières, des cascades ou des piscines naturelles qui invitent à la baignade et au repos à l’ombre des arbres qui les entourent.

Chapelles romanes de Castagniccia, églises baroques bastiaises, fortifications de Bonifacio ou citadelle de Calvi, l’Histoire a déposé ses empreintes partout et jusque dans les villages les plus reculés de l’île. Mais ses habitants ont aussi érigé des musées, mis en valeur les sites archéologiques, organisé des festivals très appréciés de musique, de théâtre. La préhistoire a laissé à la Corse les Menhirs de Filitosa ; les Romains lui ont appris la culture de la vigne et l’élevage des huîtres À partir du Moyen-Âge, la chrétienté a encouragé l’érection d’églises romanes et baroques. Quant aux Génois, ils y ont construit des forteresses et des citadelles, remparts contre les envahisseurs.

Le patrimoine culturel

Chaque village en Corse possèdent un bâtiment ou un lieu classé, ces lieux remarquables le sont soit par leur beauté, soit par leur histoire qui font que des ruines vous font découvrir des temps ancestraux dont personne ne se souvient…

ile-rousse-3En Corse, les pierres sont l’histoire de l’île, elles sont héritées de l’occupation génoise, et les remparts d’autrefois étaient chargés de défendre l’île contre ses assaillants, les tours génoises, elles, sont disséminées aux quatre coins de l’île et mettent l’accent sur une histoire chargée d’évènements. Certaines peuvent être visitées car elles ont été restaurées ou sont en voie de restauration.
Si vous atterrissez ou accostez à Bastia pour venir séjourner dans notre hôtel, lors de votre trajet en voiture vous passerez par Ponte Novu et vous pourrez découvrir les vestiges d’un pont génois reliant les deux rives du Golo au village. En 1769, il fut le lieu d’affrontements sanglants entre les troupes de Pascal Paoli et celles du Roi de France. Un bel exemple du génie militaire de l’époque sera la citadelle de Calvi qui dominent la mer par ses rempart et sa place fortifiée empreinte d’histoire.
Les forts génois de Matra, de Girolata et de Saint-Florent… l’enceinte bastionnée de Porto-Vecchio … les vestiges de Filitosa sont d’autres lieus remarquables que vous n’aurez peut être pas le temps de visiter et qui vous inciterons à revenir en Corse, car ici chaque rochers vous cachent un paysage unique et magnifique.

Réservez votre séjour dans notre établissement hôtelier via notre formulaire sécurisé

TOP